Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) links all major Australian qualifications from secondary school certificates to postgraduate degrees. It ensures that qualifications across the country are consistent and represent the same high standard of education.

There are 10 AQF levels:

  • Level 1 — Certificate I
  • Level 2 — Certificate II
  • Level 3 — Certificate III
  • Level 4 — Certificate IV
  • Level 5 — Diploma
  • Level 6 — Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree
  • Level 7 — Bachelor Degree
  • Level 8 — Bachelor Honours Degree, Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma
  • Level 9 — Masters Degree
  • Level 10 — Doctoral Degree

Each AQF level sets out what you should be able to do once you finish a course.

For example, a certificate I should give you basic skills for work, further learning, and living in the community. Meanwhile, a diploma should give you advanced skills in an area of work or learning, e.g. business, information technology, hospitality.

For more information, visit the Australian Qualifications Framework website.

Last updated: 06-Jun-2017